The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles maintains a Driver Violation Point System to identify and take action against high risk drivers.
All moving violations have a certain number of points associated with them if you are found guilty. Here is a link to many Vehicle and Traffic law infractions and their corresponding points:
For example, if you are ticketed with speeding of 11 to 20 miles per hour over the limit and you plead guilty by sending your ticket back in the mail, then you will be assessed 4 points on your license. This will be in addition to a hefty court fine and mandatory New York State surcharge.
If you hit 6 points on your license in any 18-month period, then you will be charged a “Driver Responsibility Assessment Fee” of $300. After that, each and every point over 6 will incur an additional fee of $25. Finally, if you accumulate 11 or more points on your license within any 18-month period, then your license will be suspended by the DMV.
On top of all this, if you are ticketed with driving while your license is suspended or revoked, then you can be charged with the crime of “Aggravated Unlicensed Operation of a Motor Vehicle”, which could include jail time, if convicted.
Therefore, it is absolutely imperative that you avoid or minimize the number of potential violation points on your license after getting any traffic ticket. The easiest and best way to do this is to hire a lawyer to represent you. A good lawyer can likely achieve a reduction down to an infraction that carries less or no points, or even a dismissal of the charges altogether.
Contact the Law Office of John C. Nelson today for high-quality representation on any Vehicle and Traffic tickets (and their associated violation points) you might be facing. It could literally save your license.